System Menu

The available items in the System Menu depends on the connection state of DataStudio. If DataStudio is not connected to a Core server then only the Connect and Close options will be available.

System Menu - View when DataStudio is disconnected from Core server
Figure 1. System Menu - View when DataStudio is disconnected from Core server

Connect

Click Connect to call the login dialogue of DataStudio to connect to a Core (see the Login section for more details).

Disconnect

If DataStudio already connected, the first menu item, Disconnect, can be used to disconnect DataStudio from the currently connected Core.
System Menu - View when DataStudio is connected to the Core server
Figure 2. System Menu - View when DataStudio is connected to the Core server

Upon clicking Disconnect, DataStudio asks the user whether the current state of the workspace should be saved. Click Yes to save the current workspace configuration, otherwise click No.

Save Workspace upon disconnect
Figure 3. Save Workspace upon disconnect

New Workspace

Use this menu item to create and automatically load a new blank workspace. Before a new workspace can be created and loaded, DataStudio needs to close the active one, and will ask the user whether the current state of the workspace should be saved.

Save Workspace Dialogue
Figure 4. Save Workspace Dialogue

Click Yes, if you would like to save the current workspace configuration and continue to create and load a new workspace, otherwise click No. The Create New Workspace dialogue opens automatically where the user must specify a name for the workspace and click Yes.

Create New Workspace Dialogue
Figure 5. Create New Workspace Dialogue
Workspace names have to be unique per user. If the user attempts to create a workspace using a name that is already in use, DataStudio will ask if the existing one should be overwritten.

Save Workspace

Saves the current state of the active workspace.

Save Workspace As

Saves the current state of the active workspace under a different name provided by the user.

Save Workspace As…​ Dialogue
Figure 6. Save Workspace As…​ Dialogue

Recent Workspaces

This menu item will list the recently used workspaces, starting with the most recently used, in a sub-menu. Clicking on one of these sub-menu items will load the respective workspace.

Recent Workspaces
Figure 7. Recent Workspaces

Workspace Manager

This System menu item opens the Workspace Manager dialogue, allowing you to inspect and manage the available workspaces.

Workspace Manager
Figure 8. Workspace Manager
  1. Available Workspaces: This group contains a list of all workspaces available to the current user, including the information about the displays included in the workspace. Included displays are shown as sub branches of the workspace list entries.

  2. Workspace/Display Details: This group contains detailed information about the selected (highlighted) item in the Available Workspaces list. Depending from the type selected - workspace or display - different details are shown here.

  3. Action Buttons:

    • Click New to create a new blank workspace.

    • Check the Auto Save box to switch-off save prompts when loading new workspaces or when disconnecting/closing DataStudio.

    • Click Copy to create a copy of the workspace shown in the Details group.

    • Click Delete to delete the workspaces which are checked in the Available Workspaces list. If no workspace-checkbox is selected, this button can be used to delete the workspace or display shown in the Details group.

    • Click Load to load the workspace shown in the Details group.